About Carve

Carve has published HONEST FICTION online since 2000 and hosts the annual Raymond Carver Short Story Contest. Print and digital quarterly issues feature poetry, nonfiction, interviews, illustrations, and more. While formally based in Dallas, Texas, the staff and volunteers who help the magazine thrive are from all over the world.

Carve is a member of CLMP and attends the annual AWP conference.


Our mission is to contribute to an international literary conversation by publishing quality fiction, poetry, and nonfiction that display authentic voices and confident craft. We’re particularly drawn to stories with moments of catharsis and change that draw on a reader’s empathy.

We support the writers we publish, helping new, emerging, and established authors reach a wider literary audience. We achieve this through sharing their stories and our conversations about the modern writer’s life in print and online. We also actively seek to engage younger readers through classroom-ready lesson plans centered on our short stories.

We strive to make a positive impact on the writing community at large. Though our selections are ultimately subjective and varied, we offer notes and critiques on submissions that we feel are nearly aligned with our vision. In a variety of features, we highlight our contributors, submitters, and those who practice good literary citizenship.

Above all, Carve, named in honor of Raymond Carver, is HONEST FICTION.

Raymond Carver in 1984.  Photograph: Bob Adelman/Corbis


Resident Reading Committee

Guest Reading Committee
Apoorva Mittal, Ayla Gilbert, Bridget Apfeld, Courtney Wallace, Dan Macias, David Sanchez, Eli Didier, Erika Parker, Hannah Popal, Heather Hobma, Jasmine Williams, Jennifer Audette, Joe O'Neill, Katie Knecht, Kelsey Ipsen, Kristene Brown, Kristina Fedeczko, Lauren Kelly, Manuela Williams, Sarah DeGeorge, Tali Treece

Poetry Reading Committee
Beau McGlasson, Chris Menezes, Jacob Billingsley, Lauren Korn, Marcus Dietrich, Savannah Admire, Stacy Pendergrast

Nonfiction Reading Committee
Emily McCormack, Hillary Fifield, Krista Pohlmeyer



+Named #11 in EveryWritersResource top 20 online literary mags
+19 Notable Stories in StorySouth's Million Writers Award since 2007
+1st and 3rd place in the 2013 Million Writers Award
+1st place in the 2014 and 2015 Million Writers Award
+Special Mention in 2008 & 2010 Pushcart Prize
+Favorably reviewed by NewPages.com
+Recognized for outstanding work in helping writers


Without you, we're nothing.

We love to receive feedback and hear what we can do to make our magazine better. We’re also happy to grant select interview requests and answer any general inquiries.

Please note that we do not review books by request.

You can contact us by mail too. Send us a letter to:

Carve Magazine
PO Box 701510
Dallas, TX 75370


Hey surfing fans, we're not the mag you're looking for.
Try carvemag.com instead.

Name *